## **Derbyshire Constabulary**

Derbyshire Constabulary was formed in March 1857 with the strength of 156 men. At this time there were eight divisions: Ashbourne, Bakewell, Belper, Chesterfield, Derby, Glossop, Melbourne and Matlock.

There was a grading system of pay amongst the Constables going from fourth to first class. Misconduct resulted in punishment by a drop in pay.

Force headquarters was originally established at Belper Police Station but proved unsuitable as it was also Divisional Headquarters. In 1859 the Force Headquarters moved to Derby in temporary accommodation in St. James' Terrace before moving to St. Mary's Gate in 1861.

The Force members assembled quarterly for inspection and drill. Officers had to make their way to Derby from their divisions with all their equipment and uniform. The inspections were carried out in Derby Arboretum for many years before they were moved to Derby Divisional Headquarters.

All beats were worked by foot, only the Superintendents were provided transportation in the form of a pony and trap. Communication between headquarters and the divisions would have been delivered by telegram or letter.

By 1889 the Derbyshire Constabulary had the strength of 282 men. New buildings were authorised including Clay Cross Police Station and Renishaw Police Station. Telephones were installed at the Divisional Headquarters during the 1890's which was revolutionary at the time.



Police Constable 294 Samuel Hurst. He joined the Constabulary in 1907 and retired in 1933

Derbyshire Constabulary was at the forefront of science in the 1920's and 1930's using fingerprints and forensic evidence to solve crimes and by setting up a criminal record office.

In 1931 the Constabulary purchased AJS motor cycles and side cars for the first motor patrols. These gave way to Austin sports cars and later MG sports cars. The vehicles were not used during the Second World War except for two which were used by the first policewomen drivers for motor patrols.

Police Headquarters and County offices moved to Matlock in April 1958 as the premises at Derby had become too small.

# Derby County and Borough Constabulary

In April 1947 Chesterfield Borough Police and Glossop police amalgamated with Derbyshire Constabulary.

20 years later in April 1967 Derby Borough Police also amalgamated with the Constabulary which then became known as Derby County and Borough Constabulary.

With this amalgamation of the County and Borough forces the new Police Authority was granted a coat of arms. The Counties rose and stags heads emblems were now joined by the Derby Ram. The Latin motto 'VIS UNITA FORTIOR' (Strength united is greater) clearly refers to the combining of the two Forces.

In December 1970 the Force Headquarters moved to its current location at Butterley Hall, Ripley. On the 1<sup>st</sup> April 1974 the Force re-adopted the name of Derbyshire Constabulary. Today there are four divisions within the Derbyshire Constabulary: Alfreton, Buxton, Chesterfield and Derby.



Derby County and Borough Constabulary Special Constables on Point duty, Derby

## **Derby Borough Police**

The Derby Borough Police was established in 1836 after the Municipals Corporations Act of 1835 directed towns to set up Police Forces throughout England and Wales.

The Derby Borough Watch Committee met on the 5<sup>th</sup> January 1836 to discuss the matter and on the 10<sup>th</sup> February of that year eight constables, a sergeant and a superintendent commenced duty.

Headquarters for Derby Borough officers was at Full Street Station in Derby where they remained until they amalgamated with Derbyshire Constabulary in April 1967.



Police Constable 25 of Derby Borough Police

## Chesterfield Borough Police

The Police Act of 1836 spurred the Chesterfield Corporation to form a Police Force.

Chesterfield Borough Police were based at Beetwell Street in the centre of Chesterfield. The force amalgamated with Derbyshire Constabulary in

1947.



### Glossop Police

Glossop was granted status of Municipal Borough in 1867 partly due to the increase in population. The Watch Committee decided to implement a local force separate from Derbyshire Constabulary.

The Glossop Police were based at Ellison Street police station until they amalgamated with Derbyshire Constabulary in 1947.



Glossop Police in the early 1940's.